

MINUTES OF THE AVICC SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT HELD VIA TELECONFERENCE FRIDAY, July 10, 2015

REPRESENTATIVES:

AVICC Second Vice President Edwin Grieve, Committee Chair

Director Judy Brownoff, Capital

Director Dennis Dugas, Mount Waddington

Director Stan Gisborne, Powell River Director Alec McPherson, Nanaimo Director Ian Morrison, Cowichan Valley Director Rod Nichol, Comox Valley Director Larry Samson, Strathcona

ALTERNATES AS OBSERVERS:

Director Sonia Furstenau, Cowichan Valley

Director Roger Kishi, Comox Valley

Director Carol Ann Leishman, Powell River 1st Vice President Mary Marcotte, AVICC Director Jude Schooner, Strathcona

STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:

Glen Brown, GM Victoria Operations, UBCM

Russell Dyson, CAO, Alberni Clayoquot

Larry Gardner, Manager Solid Waste, Nanaimo

James Mathers, Senior Manager of Solid Waste, Comox Valley

Al Radke, CAO, Powell River

Russ Smith, Sr. Mgr, Environmental Resource Management, Capital

Paul Thorkelsson, CAO, Nanaimo

Teresa Warnes, Executive Assistant, Comox Valley (Recorder)
James Warren, Corporate Legislative Assistant, Comox Valley

Wilbert Yang, Consultant, Tetra Tech EBA

UNAVAILABLE PRIMARY REPS:

Director Ian Winn, Sunshine Coast

Director John McNabb, Alberni Clayoquot

Chair Edwin Grieve called the meeting to order at 9:03 am, welcomed all those in attendance. Attendance was then taken.

MINUTES OF JUNE 19, 2015 MEETING

On motion by Comox Valley Director Nichol, seconded by Strathcona Director Samson,
That the minutes and workshop notes of the June 19, 2015 meeting be adopted, with minor corrections made to comments by workshop participants, was

CARRIED

REQUEST FROM COAST WASTE MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION

The request from the Coast Waste Management Association for committee representative(s) to present at and participate in their Conference scheduled for October 21-23, 2015 at the Bear Mountain Resort in Langford was reviewed.

Minutes of the July 10, 2015 Teleconference Meeting of the AVICC Special Committee on Solid Waste Management

On motion by Cowichan Valley Director Morrison, seconded by Nanaimo Director McPherson,
That the Coast Waste Management Association be advised that the AVICC special committee on solid
waste management will not be able to make a presentation at their October conference, however
members of AVICC may attend at their discretion, was

CARRIED

COMOX STRATHCONA WASTE MANAGEMENT MEETING WITH MINISTER POLAK

On motion by Comox Valley Director Nichol, seconded by Strathcona Director Samson,
That the June 18, 2015 letter from the Comox Valley Regional District regarding the CSWM meeting with Minister Polak be received, was

CARRIED

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT - WASTE TO ENERGY

On motion by Comox Valley Director Nichol, seconded by Powell River Director Gisborne,
That the June 3, 2015 letter from Comox Valley Director R. Nichol regarding waste to energy options
be received, was

CARRIED

OCEAN LEGACY FOUNDATION (TOLF)

On motion by Comox Valley Director Nichol, seconded by Cowichan Valley Director Morrison,
That the April 23, 2015 letter from the Comox Valley Regional District sharing the information presented to their board by the Ocean Legacy Foundation be received, was

CARRIED

On motion by Comox Valley Director Nichol, seconded by Cowichan Valley Director Morrison,
That the information provided by the Ocean Legacy Foundation be reconsidered by the AVICC special
committee on solid waste management once the committee has reviewed/received the report by
TetraTech, was

CARRIED

TETRATECH REPORT

Wilbert Yang, Consultant, Tetra Tech EBA advised the committee that a draft report would be provided to James Warren for review by the end of July.

Following receipt of the draft report James Warren advised that it would be distributed to the committee's technical/operational staff for review and feedback.

NEXT MEETING

9:00 a.m. – 10:00 am, Friday, August 28, 2015 – teleconference

ADJOURNMENT

At 9:23 am, on motion by Comox Valley Director Nichol, seconded by Cowichan Valley Director Morrison, that the meeting be adjourned was

AVICC 2nd Vice President Edwin Grieve

Meeting Chair

Feresa Warnes, on behalf of AVICC Staff

Meeting Recorder