

MINUTES OF THE AVICC SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT HELD AT THE REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO FRIDAY, September 11, 2015

REPRESENTATIVES:

AVICC Second Vice President Edwin Grieve, Committee Chair

Director Judy Brownoff, Capital Director Stan Gisborne, Powell River

Alt. Roger Kishi, Comox Valley

Director John McNabb, Alberni Clayoquot

Director Alec McPherson, Nanaimo Director Ian Morrison, Cowichan Valley Director Larry Samson, Strathcona Director Ian Winn, Sunshine Coast

ALTERNATES AS OBSERVERS:

1st Vice President Mary Marcotte, AVICC

STAFF IN ATTENDANCE:

Glen Brown, GM Victoria Operations, UBCM Brian Carruthers, CAO, Cowichan Valley

Robyn Cooper, Manager of Waste Reduction, Sunshine Coast

Russell Dyson, CAO, Alberni Clayoquot Greg Fletcher, CAO, Mount Waddington

James Mathers, Senior Manager of Solid Waste, Comox Valley

Debra Oakman, CAO, Comox Valley

Al Radke, CAO, Powell River

Marc Rutten, General Manager of Engineering, Comox Valley

Russ Smith, Senior Manager, Capital Paul Thorkelsson, CAO, Nanaimo

Dennis Trudeau, General Manager of Solid Waste, Nanaimo Mike Wall, Manager of Community Services, Powell River

Tauseef Waraich, Manager, Cowichan Valley

James Warren, Corporate Legislative Officer, Comox Valley

Wilbert Yang, Consultant, Tetra Tech

UNAVAILABLE PRIMARY REPS:

Director Dennis Dugas, Mount Waddington

AVICC President Barbara Price, Ex-officio

Chair Edwin Grieve called the meeting to order at 11:17 am, welcomed all those in attendance.

MINUTES OF AUGUST 28, 2015 MEETING

On motion by Strathcona Director Samson, seconded by AVICC 1st Vice President Marcotte, That the minutes of the August 28, 2015 meeting be adopted, was

CARRIED

TETRA TECH DRAFT REPORT

Wilbert Yang, consultant with Tetra Tech EBA, presented a PowerPoint of the 'state of waste management' report.

The committee reviewed and discussed in detail the draft report.

RECESS

The meeting recessed at 1:12 p.m.

RECONVENED

The meeting reconvened at 1:56 p.m.

TETRA TECH DRAFT REPORT

It was agreed that September 18, 2015 is the deadline for participates to submit their formal input/responses to the report.

On motion by AVICC President Marcotte, and seconded by Powell River Director Gisborne, that the draft 'The State of Waste Management' report from Tetra Tech dated September 2015 be received, was

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 2:48 p.m.

AVICC 2nd Vice President Edwin Grieve

Meeting Chair

James Warren, on behalf of AVICC Staff

Meeting Recorder