

2673 Dunsmuir Avenue P.O. Box 340 Cumberland, BC V0R 1S0

Cumberiana, BC VUR 150 Telephone: 250-336-2291 Fax: 250-336-2321

cumberland.ca

File No. 0400-40

October 5, 2016

By email:

justin.trudeau@parl.gc.ca

jody.wilson-raybould@parl.gc.ca romeo.saganash@parl.gc.ca

gord.johns@parl.gc.ca

marcia.dawson@komoks.ca

avicc@ubcm.ca

Dear Prime Minister Trudeau, Minister Wilson-Raybould, Mr. Saganash, Mr. Johns, K'ómoks First Nation Council and Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities (AVICC) members,

Re: Cumberland Council endorsement of bill C-262

The Village of Cumberland Council passed the following resolution at the regular Council meeting on September 19, 2016, in the Village of Cumberland Council Chambers:

THAT Council endorse bill C-262, a private member's bill to implement the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in Canada, by adopting the following resolution:

WHEREAS the UN General Assembly adopted the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) in September 2007;

AND WHEREAS UNDRIP recognizes Indigenous Peoples' rights and individual and collective freedoms;

AND WHEREAS the Canadian government removed its reservation to UNDRIP in November 2010:

AND WHEREAS the full implementation of UNDRIP requires that Canada establish a legislative framework that will harmonize federal law(s) with UNDRIP;

AND WHEREAS Romeo Saganash- MP for Abitibi - Baie- James - Nunavik - Eeyou has introduced a private members bill, C- 262- An Act to ensure the harmony of federal

legislation with the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Village of Cumberland endorses Bill C- 262, and calls on the federal government to move towards the full implementation of UNDRIP with federal law(s);

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this be communicated to Prime Minister Trudeau, Justice Minister Wilson- Raybould, MPs Romeo Saganash and Gord Johns, K'ómoks First Nation, and copied to AVICC members.

Yours sincerely,

**Adriana Proton** 

**Deputy Corporate Officer**