The Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities is a body formed for the purpose of representing in one organization the various municipalities, regional districts and other local governments of Vancouver Island, Sunshine Coast, Powell River, the North Coast and the Central Coast.

The Association of Vancouver Island and Coastal Communities is one of five area associations of local governments within the province of British Columbia. These area associations operate under the umbrella of the Union of BC Municipalities.

The objectives of the Association are to secure united action among its members to promote greater autonomy within local government in co-operation with the Union of BC Municipalities and other associations of municipalities and regional districts in British Columbia for the advancement of the principles of local government.

The Association name was changed in 1998 from the Association of Vancouver Island Municipalities to the current name to better reflect the membership.

AVICC has 53 members that represent the municipalities and regional districts. The association is administered by an elected board of  8 members and one part-time staff member. The office is located in Victoria at Local Government House, 525 Government Street, Victoria, BC  V8V OA8.

Within the first two weeks of April annually, the Association holds its AGM & Convention which attracts over 275 delegates and guests, sponsors and exhibitors.  The AGM & Convention is held in a different member community each year.