Life Members

AVICC Executive policies provide for the awarding of Life Memberships to the association. Section 10.1 of the policies state the following:

Life membership may be granted by the Executive to persons who have made a significant contribution to local government in British Columbia.  All Past Presidents shall be life members.  Life members who are not member delegates shall have the privilege of the floor, but with the exception of the immediate Past President shall not be entitled to vote.

Life Memberships are usually awarded at the banquet held on the Saturday evening of the AGM & Convention.

Year Full Name Local Government
2019 Mary Marcotte Cowichan Valley
2018 Barbara Price Comox
2017 Joe Stanhope Nanaimo RD
2014 Larry Cross Sidney
2011 Christopher Causton Oak Bay
2011 Barry Janyk Gibsons
2009 Eydie Fraser AVICC Staff
2008-09 Rod Sherrell Port McNeill
2007-08 Bea Holland Victoria
2008 Gerry Ferney Port McNeill
2005-07 W.J. (Jack) Peake Lake Cowichan
2003-05 Mary Ashley Campbell River
2001-03 Pearl Myhres Zeballos
2000-01 Frank Leonard Saanich
1999-00 John Crook Langford
1998-99 James Lornie Campbell River
1996-97 James Gurney Sunshine Coast
1995-96 Maxine Williams Alert Bay
1994-95 Martin Segger Victoria
1993-94 Al Huddlestan Port Hardy
1992-93 Ron Webber Courtenay
1990-91 Bill Cox Ladysmith
1989-90 W. A. Eric Simmons Victoria
1989-90 Walter Behn Port Alberni
1989-90 George Cochrane Courtenay
1989-90 George Borza Nanaimo
1989-90 Frank Ney Nanaimo
1987-88 Tom McRae Tahsis
1986-87 Bill Kinley Port McNeill
1985-86 Gillian Trumper Port Alberni
1984-85 Robert Ostler Campbell River
1983-84 Norma Sealey Sidney
1982-83 Dick Winkleman Nanaimo
1981-82 Anne Fiddick Gold River
1980-81 Mel Couvelier Saanich
1979-80 George Piercy Comox
1978-79 Ken Hill Esquimalt
1977-78 K. Paskin Duncan
1976-77 George McKnight Port Alberni
1975-76 Ed Lum Victoria
1974-75 William Moncrief Cumberland
1973-74 G.H.A. MacKay Nanaimo
1971-72 Archie Galbraith Central Saanich
1970 S.A.D. Pike Powell River
1969 Kay Grouhel Ladysmith
1968 Rob Baird Victoria
1967 Les Hammer Port Alberni
1966 Doug Watts Oak Bay
1965 Fred Bishop Port Alberni
1964 Reeve Lee Central Saanich
1963 Don Morton North Cowichan
1962 John Cook Nanaimo
1960 George Chatterton Saanich
1959 Bill Moore Courtenay
1958 Jack Dobson Duncan
1957 Alf Wurtele Esquimalt
1955-56 C.A.P. Murson North Cowichan
1954 Bill Henderson Cumberland
1953 Bert Beasley North Cowichan
1951-52 Earl Westwood Nanaimo
1949-50 Lorne Jordan Port Alberni