AVICC Representatives on External Groups

The AVICC Executive may appoint representatives to external groups. Currently there are representatives appointed to the following:


Department of Fisheries & Oceans: Southern Resident Killer Whale Indigenous & Multi-Stakeholder Advisory Group

Appointee: Mayor Josie Osborne, District of Tofino.

2020 January updates:

Department of Fisheries & Oceans: 2019 Aquaculture Sustainability
In June 2019 the DFO announced a number of initiatives to enhance aquaculture sustainability in Canada, including the establishment of three Technical Working Groups and a coordinating Indigenous and Multi-Stakeholder Body. UBCM and AVICC were offered the opportunity to have representatives on these groups. 
Indigenous and Multi-Stakeholder Advisory Body – Josie Osborne, District of Tofino
Technical Working Groups:
  • Area Based Management – Daniel Arbour, Comox Valley RD
  • Aquaculture Production Technologies – no appointee
  • Fish Health – no appointee

2020 March updates:


Department of Fisheries & Oceans:  Aquaculture Management Advisory Committee (AMAC) for Shellfish 

Appointee: Director Daniel Arbour, Comox Valley Regional District

Next meeting scheduled for April 2020 – TBC


Coastal Community Social Procurement Initiative (CCSPI)

The AVICC Executive has also appointed a liaison from the AVICC Executive to the Coastal Community Social Procurement Initiative. The liaison is 1st Vice President Ian Morrison (Cowichan Valley Regional District). Information on the group’s work is available on the CCSPI website linked above.

A good response will mean more insight into how COVID19 has affected Island Communities and will be valuable for ongoing decision making.